Review of Himself

Source: Shindig Magazine

Writer: Marco Rossi

Date: Nov 2011

Himself is available from Bygum Records along with lots of other Gilbert albums, posters, tee-shirts and concert programmes. 

Click HERE to email Marie at Bygum Records for all enquiries.



The first in Salvo's 'The Singer And His Songs' reissue programme of Gilbert
's back catalogue was released on the 7th November 2011.  Himself has been remastered with 8 bonus tracks added.  The 20 page booklet accompaning the CD includes an interview with Gilbert by Chris Ingram (jazz pianist, producer and author of Rough Ruide to the Beatles).  There are also track by track comments by both Gilbert and Chris, full lyrics and some rare photos.

The bonus tracks include a demo of Gilbert's very first single "Disappear" from 1967 plus some tracks which have never appeared before on CD.

Track Listings

1. Intro

2. January Git

3. Bye-Bye

4. Permissive Twit

5. Matrimony

6. Independent Air

7. Nothing Rhymed

8. Too Much Attention

9. Susan Van Heusen

10. If I Don t Get You (Back Again)

11. Thunder And Lightning

12. Houdini Said

13. Doing The Best I Can

14. Outro

Bonus Tracks

15. Disappear - [Original Demo]

16. What Can I Do - [Original Demo]

17. Mr Moody s Garden - [B-side of 'I Wish I Could Cry']

18. Everybody Knows - [B-side 'Nothing Rhymed']

19. Underneath The Blanket Go - [Single]

20. We Will - [Single]

21. I Didn t Know What To Do - [B-side 'We Will']

22. No Matter How I Try - [Single]